Friday, September 26, 2014

All About Middle Grade Interview: Maria T. Lennon (Author of Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child)


I am super excited to welcome Maria T. Lennon, author of Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child & Watch Out, Hollywood! More Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child, to the blog to discus her fabulous books and which character she thinks could save the world from a robot invasion. All this and more.

About the author:
Maria T. Lennon is a graduate of the London School of Economics, a novelist, a screenwriter, and the author of Confessions of a So-called Middle Child, the first book featuring the irrepressible Charlie C. Cooper. When not driving one of her four children to school or volunteering at school libraries, she can be found sitting in a parked car, a café, or a library, writing novels, travel articles, or just passed out. To learn more, and to download a free curiculum guide, visit her website:

You can haunt Maria T. Lennon at-
Website | Goodreads | Twitter |



• In five words tell us about your book Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child.

A Funny And True Book. ( five words, wow, I did it.)

• Why do you think readers will enjoy reading about Charlie and her story? What was the easiest, or funniest, part of Charlie's story for you to write?

Readers will enjoy it because what goes on in Charlie’s world goes on every day in elementary school— and Charlie makes the most awful mistakes, way worse than most kids make, which makes them laugh, and hopefully, feel better about themselves. Funniest part? Probably the Marta makeover. I was literally cracking up while I was writing. That was so much fun.

• Care to share a two sentence teaser from your favorite chapter in both Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child and Watch Out, Hollywood! More Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child?

A teaser….Chapter 1. The beginning of Charlie’s new life as a celebrity.

“And here we are. One day after the whole thing went down and I’m waking up to a wall of lightbulbs and cameras and people chanting my name Charlie! Charlie! Charlie!”

• Last book you lost sleep to finish and why you couldn't put it down?

The House of Scorpion by Nancy Farmer. My children read it in fifth grade and raved about it and the moment I read the first few lines I was hooked, could not move from the sofa until I finished it.

• Three non-writing things: one thing you're good at; one thing you're bad at; and one thing you wish you could do?

To be perfectly honest, I’m really pretty bad at most things. Uncoordinated, inartistic and physically weak. Okay: I’m a decent cook. I am a horrible artist. I wish I could build houses. Yes. I wish I could build a house.

• If you could meet any author, dead or living, and ask them one question about one of their books. Who and what would it be?

It would have to be Proust because my mother worships him and I would let her do the talking. She’s far smarter than I am.

• The world has fallen to a robot invasion and only one heroine/hero can possibly save the day, who do you choose?

Oh God—science fiction is so not my cup of tea. But I would choose Iron Man because he knows how to dismantle and build robots. And he’s got an awesome pad in Malibu And he’s cute and sarcastic.

• Care to tell us about your writing cave (include picture if you want)?

I have four kids, there is no cave deep enough to hide from them. So, I write out in the open—on the deck, living room, kitchen, library, car, anywhere and everywhere I can have a free moment and I like it that way. Something about behind surrounded by chaos (and kids) that makes me focus. Plus I love hearing their voices in the background. Silence is overrated.

• Any upcoming project you can share with us?

I just turned in a YA book called RICH KID. It’s about a cocky 17-year-old kid named Asher Wells who’s worth a billion dollars until one day, suddenly, he’s not. His father is indicted and Asher is forced to come down to earth and enter the real world with a whole lot of people who hate his guts and one girl who changes his life. It’s a love story.

Maria, thank you so much for stopping by! I shall happily await the release of your YA book as it sounds quite interesting! =)




Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child (Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child, 1) by Maria T. Lennon, August 27, 2013, Published by HarperCollins.
It's Mean Girls for tweens in the tradition of Paula Danziger's Cat That Ate My Gymsuit and Judy Blume! Watch out, world: here comes Charlie C. Cooper-computer whiz, reformed bully, and so-called middle child-in this seriously funny debut tween novel from screenwriter Maria T. Lennon.

Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child stars the hilariously cheeky reformed bully and tween hacker Charlie Cooper as she tries to ditch her middle-child reputation and make cool friends at her new school in Los Angeles. But being cool isn't as easy as it looks. Charlie has to face down the mean girls and decide between right and wrong once and for all when she learns the terrible truth behind Marta the Farta's bad attitude and loner status. And Charlie has to do it all in outfits meant for the runways!

You can see my review of Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child and add it to your Goodreads shelves.
Watch Out, Hollywood! More Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child (Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child, 2) by Maria T. Lennon, August 26, 2014. Published by HarperCollins.
Charlie's adventures offer a fresh look at middle school, bullying, and mean girls. In Book Two, Charlie navigates sudden celebrity and auditions for a television series, but a little white lie may endanger the one friendship Charlie can truly count on—and her connection to swoon-worthy crush Bobby! Poignant and seriously funny, Charlie's account of her dilemma is one all tweens will relate to.

Charlie knows what it feels like to be stuck in the middle, but it's finally her time to shine. After saving her friend Marta in the old Houdini tunnels of Los Angeles, Charlie's become a local hero, gained sudden celebrity, and *MIGHT* just become a TV star! But will Charlie let her newfound fame go to her head? Watch out, Hollywood!

You can see my review of Watch Out, Hollywood! More Confessions of a So-Called Middle Child and you can add it to your Goodreads shelves.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I read, and am working on replying, to all the comments y'all leave. All comments are moderated by me, so, if you don't see it automatically that's why.
Psst, there is no "Word Verification" on the comments. =)

Keep on being awesome!

linkwithen

Blog Widget by LinkWithin